40th Annual Gala Banquet and New Member Induction Ceremony

San Diego

Event details:

6:00pm MST on Saturday, February 24, 2018
10:00pm MST on Saturday, February 24, 2018
The Westgate Hotel
Registration for this event has closed.


On February 24th, the San Diego chapter OF Lambda Alpha International celebrated its 40th anniversary at the Westgate Hotel, with more than 100 attendees.

Malin Burnham, a San Diego icon, and a member of the LAI 1978 first class, was honored with the chapter’s Crystal Globe award. Mr. Burnham discussed his new book “Community Before Self:  70 Years of Making Waves” which focuses on the necessity for participating and contributing to the community.

Mr. Burnham was the CEO of one of San Diego’s oldest and largest real estate brokerage firms and was responsible for spearheading the campaign to bring the World War II Midway Aircraft carrier to San Diego. It is now one of San Diego’s major tourism attractions hosting 1.4 million visitors annually. Among other major contributions to the community, Mr Burnham co-founded the Burnham-Moores Center for Real Estate at University of San Diego.

In addition to honoring Mr. Burnham, Installing Officer and International Fellow Alan Nevin installed 14 new members, bringing the chapter membership to xxxx. The new members are:

Terry Arnett – The Arnett Company

Deborah Bossmeyer – Stewart Title Company

Brian Grover – Dudek Engineering

Stath Karras – University of San Diego

Jess Kleist – kb Homes

Rita Mahoney – Colrich

Alison Mandelbaum – Price Entities

Jim Neil – Kidder Mathews

Daniel Reeves – Downtown San Diego Partnership

David Santistevan – Colliers International

Jake Schwartz – Urban Housing Partners

Matthews Slakoff – Cavignac Insurance

Jeannette Temple – Atlantic Group

Bob Vacchi – City of San Diego




Officers and Board Members for the year 2018 are:

Martin Flores – President

Perry Dealy – Vice President

Michele Vives – Secretary

David Schumacher – Treasurer

Janice Weinrick – Past President

Member – Suzanne Varco

Member – Rachel Hurst

Member – Brooke Peterson

Member – James Tanner

Historian – Alan Nevin

Chapter Administrator – Gitte Russo