San Diego Chapter Installs 15 New Members and Honors Local Hero John Moores

San Diego Chapter Installs 15 New Members and Honors Local Hero John Moores

On February 9th, the San Diego chapter of LAI held its annual Installation Dinner at the elegant Westgate Hotel in downtown San Diego.

As part of its annual installation ceremony, the chapter honors a local citizen who has been an icon of the San Diego community and a civic leader. This year, the recipient of the chapter’s Crystal Globe award was John  Moores, the former owner of the San Diego Padres and the person directly responsible for the creation of Petco Park, the home of the San Diego Padres. Petco is heralded as one of the most architecturally significant sports venues in the Nation.

Mr. Moores was interviewed by his business partner, John Kratzer, and discussed the difficulties relating to the approval process and the 18 lawsuits that caused several years delay in the construction of Petco Park.  

The installation of the 15 new members was officiated by members Alan Nevin, Laurie Madigan and Suzanne Varco. The 15 new members represented a broad range of talents and professions. They are, in alphabetical order:

Carey Algaze                                      

Jimmy Ayala                                      

Laura Black                                     

Betsy Brennan                                      

Lance Dore                                      

Lev Gershman                          

Erin McKinley                       

Carl Nettleton                                      

Wayne Rosenbaum

Jon Schmid                             

Whitney Skala                                      

Darryl Solberg                                       

Dennis Stryker

Patricia Trauth                                      

Bethany Windle                                     



New officers for the coming year were installed at the event:

President: Perry Dealy

Vice President: Michele Vives

Treasurer: David Schumacher

Secretary: Brooke Peterson

Past President: Martin Flores

Board Members:

Suzanne Varco

Rachel Hurst

Jim Tanner

Danny Reeves

Jesse Kleist

International Historian/Scribe: Alan Nevin

Administrator: Gitte Russo


KeyNotes is the online publication of Lambda Alpha International and contains articles written by the members, chronicles chapter activities and successes, and celebrates member awards and accomplishments. Posts are distributed to the global membership and published within LAI’s social-media network. Check out the latest articles today!

Current articles  |  Article archive

Article Submission Guidelines